Finally Visiting Mount St. Helens

I kept meaning to do this.  I’d seen some amazing photos from the area, and many a hike report, but never made it down.  So even as tantalizing weather almost kept me in Seattle, I packed up the truck and headed down yesterday.  Of course I timed it so I could hit three rush hours in succession; Seattle, Tacoma and Olympia.

I arrived in the evening and set about scouting to see where I would want to be at sunset and sunrise.  Many people talk about Harry’s Ridge, and it was tempting but I ventured farther west along the Boundary Trail.  Tons of flowers:  Lupine, Paintbrush, everything blooming and colorful.  So as i took a few shots around sunset, I was planning on where to be at 4:30am.  I think things turned out well.  Mike Reid Photography

DSC01620 DSC01635 DSC01714 DSC01721-2hdrs

Leave a Reply

