How to Shoot Through Glass in an Observatory

As the in-house photographer for the Columbia Center’s Sky View Observatory, I have a bit of experience shooting through glass to get photos of the awesome city view.  Reading reviews of people’s experiences/frustrations there and at other similar properties around the world, I would like to share some of the expertise I’ve gained over the years shooting at SVO.

Basically, the issue is the reflections in the windows created by interior lighting.  My solution for this doesn’t involve filters or anything in-camera.  The work around involves bringing a black cloth.  This can be a 2×2 foot piece of black cloth bought at a fabric store which is what I carry or a scarf, jacket, or even an umbrella cover like I saw last night up there.  It also helps to be wearing something dark.  Try to avoid the gold lame sequin dress look.  It doesn’t help.

If you didn’t bring a tripod, set your camera on the ledge, use timer release and then cover it with the cloth.  If you did bring a tripod, you can check out my technique and or use something of your own.  Notice how the cloth is rolled up, wrapped around the lens up to the glass and then the ends cross over the legs of the tripod.  I usually check below the lens for light leak as with wide angle lenses, that’s where the reflections creep in.  In addition, notice how my tripod legs are unextended and perched on the railing with one leg down, so as to get closer to the glass.IMG_3602[1]IMG_3604[1]

A recent favorite:

Seattle Fog Moves In

and a short timelapse:

I hope this helps.  Please feel free to contact me with questions or ask if you see me at SVO.  I helped 3 people last night get better shots and that gave me the idea to write this.

www.mikereidphotography.com

2 thoughts on “How to Shoot Through Glass in an Observatory

  1. Love your photography and thank you for sharing the knowledge. Just a quick question: What time to they close access to the observation floor? How early? How late is it open? Thank you in advance for the response.

    Like

Leave a Reply

